• Grafik
  • Grafik

At Beth Café (Hebrew: »coffee house«), Israeli and Jewish specialities are on offer (humus and falafel, bagels, filled fish with horseradish, medschádera, matzoh dumplings, knishes, and much more). In addition it offers many tea and coffee specialities, as well as kosher wines. All meals are naturally kosher and are prepared under religious supervision.

Beth Café is a non-profit organisation of the Jewish Congregation Adass Yisroel, Berlin (Public Corporation), and was opened in 1991 in the presence of the former Head Rabbi of Israel, Rabbi Israel Meir Lau.
Beth Café is an integral part of the Congregation, by which it is supported and managed. The café was founded because of the Congregation's duty to provide a kosher eating option for Berlin's Jewish population and their guests. It serves the purpose of allowing the congregation members, Jewish citizens, and Jewish visitors in Berlin to observe the mandatory food regulations of Jewish religious law. Correspondingly, the provision of kosher food to the Jewish population of Berlin is the religious mandate of Beth Café.

For this reason, the laws governing licensing, trade regulations and shop opening and closing times do not apply to the café. This Kaschruth establishment of the Jewish Congregation Adass Yisroel, Berlin (Public Corporation) is an element of the religious practice, and belongs to the freedom of action of the Jewish religion protected by Articles 4 and 140 of the German Constitution, in conjunction with Article 137 of the Weimar Constitution, which cannot be restricted by legislators.

Seeing as it would neither be practical nor reasonable to give out individual "entry passes" to Beth Café, the above explanation regarding the mandate of the Beth Café for the provision of kosher food is only to inform the guests.

• Grafik
  • Grafik

Im Beth Café (hebr.: "Kaffee-Haus") werden israelische und jüdische Spezialitäten (Chumus und Falafel, Bagel, Gefillte Fisch & Kren, Medschádera, Matzeknödel, Knisches u.v.m.) angeboten. Viele Tee- und Kaffeespezialitäten sowie koschere Weine runden das Bild ab. Alle Speisen sind selbstverständlich koscher und unter ritueller Aufsicht hergestellt.

Das Beth Café ist eine gemeinnützige, nicht auf Gewinnerzielung angelegte Einrichtung der Israelitischen Synagogen-Gemeinde (Adass Jisroel) zu Berlin, K.d.ö.R. und wurde 1991 in Anwesenheit des ehem. Israelischen Oberrabbiner, Rabbiner Israel Meir Lau, eröffnet.

Das Beth Café ist integraler Bestandteil der Gemeinde und wird von dieser getragen und geleitet. Das Beth Café geht die Pflicht der Gemeinde zurück, eine koschere Verpflegungsmöglichkeit für die jüdische Stadtbevölkerung und deren Gäste vorzuhalten. Es dient dazu, den Mitgliedern, den jüdischen Bürgern und den jüdischen Gästen der Stadt Berlin die Beachtung der religionsgesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Speisegesetze zu ermöglichen. Dementsprechend ist die Versorgung der jüdischen Bevölkerung mit koscherer Kost der religiöse und rituelle Auftrag des Beth Café.

Die Vorschriften des Gaststättengesetzes und der Gewerbeordnung, sowie des Ladenschlussgesetzes finden deshalb keine Anwendung. Diese Kaschruth-Anstalt der Israelitischen Synagogen-Gemeinde (Adass Jisroel) zu Berlin, K.d.ö.R., ist Bestandteil der Religionsausübung und gehört zu der durch Artikel 4 und Artikel 140, Grundgesetz in Verbindung mit Artikel 137 Weimarer Reichsverfassung, geschützten - vom Gesetzgeber nicht einschränkbaren - Handlungsfreiheit der jüdischen Religion. Nachdem es weder zeitgemäß noch zumutbar wäre, eine individuelle "Zugangsberechtigung" zum Beth Café zu erteilen, dienen die obigen Erklärungen bzgl. des religiösen Versorgungsauftrags des Beth Café lediglich zur Information der Gäste.

Das Beth Café wird auch für Feiern und Veranstaltungen genutzt und bietet Platz für bis zu 100 Personen. Bei schönem Wetter ist es möglich, im begrünten Hofgarten zu sitzen.