• Grafik
  • Grafik

Jewish Congregation Adass Yisroel, Berlin (Public Corporation)

About us

The founding of the Jewish Congregation Adass Yisroel, Berlin (Public Corporation) in June 1869 was the Jewish response to the pressure of social and ideological assimilation which was prevalent in the 19th century. The goal of this newly established congregation was not anti-liberal isolation, but to unite an orthodox lifestyle with an openness for culture, education, and art. Emancipation and the active participation in society were encouraged, whilst maintaining Jewish traditions.

With the opening of religious schools, synagogues and religious facilities, Adass Yisroel developed into an independent community. Rabbi Dr. Esriel Hildesheimer, who was born in Halberstadt and had been actively engaged in the Austro-Hungarian city of Eisenstadt, became the Congregation's first Rabbi, and in 1873 he founded the Berlin Rabbinical Seminary. In 1880, Adass Yisroel consecrated its own community cemetery in the Berlin-Weissensee area on Falkenberger Chaussee (today Wittlicher Strasse). After originally being located on Gipsstrasse, the community centre and synagogue were moved in 1904 to 31 Artilleriestrasse (today the address is 40 Tucholskystrasse), where they are still to be found. With the growth of the Congregation, a second community centre was established at 11 Siegmundshof in Berlin's Tiergarten quarter in 1924, with a synagogue, a secondary school and college - the first, and until recently only Jewish secondary school in Berlin. A community hospital, called »Israelitisches Krankenheim der Adass Jisroel«, was opened in 1909, and several synagogues were kept running or supported in the Berlin districts of Prenzlauer Berg, Tiergarten, and Charlottenburg. By this time the Rabbinical Seminary, which was affiliated with the Congregation, had become the most important training school for orthodox rabbis in Germany, and had acquired an international reputation. At the beginning of the 1930s, one sixth of Berlin Jews were affiliated with Adass Yisroel, either as members, or as supporters who used the services offered by the Congregation and participated in community events.

Adass Yisroel suffered the same fate as all other Jewish communities in Germany. After countless previous incidents of persecution and deprivation of rights, the Gestapo ordered the liquidation of Adass Yisroel and its inclusion in the Nazi-founded »Association for Jews in Germany«. In this way, Adass Yisroel was divested of all its legal rights, as well as its historical sites and buildings.

After the genocide of European Jews, the surviving members of Adass Yisroel, many of whom had by this time emigrated, had neither the opportunity nor the emotional strength to immediately rebuild the community in Berlin. In the western part of Berlin, the school buildings and the synagogue in Siegmundshof were illegally sold off, and in 1955 they were razed to the ground. In the eastern part of the city, the beautiful, large synagogue belonging to the Congregation befell the same fate. In 1985, on both sides of the still-divided city, the first efforts were made to rekindle the Congregation. Since summer this year, Adass Yisroel has managed, under difficult circumstances, to restore its cemetery, which had previously lain to waste. This was made possible with the help of state funding and, more significantly, with the physical aid of volunteers from both east and west.

On December 18 1989, the 50th anniversary of the Nazi »Auflösungsverfügung« (decree of divestiture), which had dissolved the Congregation on a legal level, the first East German government after the fall of the Iron Curtain ordered the restoration of its rights to the Jewish Congregation (Adass Yisroel) in Berlin, which had been revoked during the Nazi regime. At last, the reconstruction of the Congregation could begin. At Purim in 1990 (5750), a new synagogue was consecrated in the ancestral community centre. Torah scrolls were brought over from Israel. In July 1991, the kosher restaurant »Beth Café« was opened in the community centre, and in April 1992, just around the corner on Auguststrasse, a store called »Kolbo«, selling kosher groceries and Jewish religious items, was also opened. The rebuilding of the historical synagogue and the restoration of the destroyed mikwe are also planned.

As well as regular synagogue services, the Congregation also offers Hebrew lessons, religious education courses for children and adults, and lectures and public readings about Jewish traditions and culture, both past and present. A library, an archive, and access to the Congregation's records are also on offer. The children's club »Mo'adonit«, run in the community centre, has become an attraction for children both big and small. Adass Yisroel is active in social work, particularly in the areas of integration of migrants from the former Soviet Union, care of the elderly, spiritual guidance for the ill, and pastoral care for Jewish detainees in Berlin prisons. The Congregation is also active in the areas of Jewish education and welfare. The main goals of Adass Yisroel are the continuation of orthodox Jewish tradition from generation to generation, the strengthening of Jewish life and affairs in Berlin, and the maintenance of strong ties to Israel.

In October 1997, the original legal status of Adass Yisroel as a pre-constitutionally recognised religious entity (in the form of a public corporation) was confirmed by the highest German administrative court. For this reason, the Jewish Congregation Adass Yisroel, Berlin (Public Corporation) is at present the only Jewish congregation of its kind in Germany, which has held on to its original legal title and identity from its founding in 1869 right through to the present day.

The long standing chairman of Adass Yisroel, Ari Abraham Offenberg (setzal), who led the Congregation from 1985 until 2007 with purpose, determination, and his own distinctive flair, left a flourishing congregation behind him after 22 years in office. His impact as a leader and guide in difficult times, his indefatigable commitment to bridging the gap between the pre-war Congregation and the present day Congregation, and the way that through his authenticity and charisma he personified the original Berliner »Adassianers«, will remain in memory and will always be acknowledged.

‫הח׳ ר׳ ארי אברהם בן הח׳ ר׳ חיים שלמה אופ? ברג זצ״ל‬
‫? שיא‬
ק״ק עדת ישראל ברלין‬
‫מש? ת תשמ״ה ועד ש? ת תשס״ז
‫בשם טוב ובשיבה טובה
‫עלה למרומים ביום שבת ק׳ פר׳ תרומה ~ ו׳ אדר תשס״ז לפ״ק‬
‫? טמן ביום ג׳ ט׳ אדר תשס״ז לפ״ק ‎‎‎‎

Adass Yisroel


Ari Abraham Offenberg (setzal)
Chairman
of the Jewish Congregation Adass Yisroel, Berlin (Public Corporation)
from 1985 until 2007
Passed away on February 24, 2007 / Adar 6, 5767 /
Schabbat Kodesch Par. Teruma
Laid to rest on February 27, 2007 / Adar 9, 5767.

• Grafik
  • Grafik

Adass Jisroel

Wir über uns

Die Gründung der Israelitischen Synagogen-Gemeinde (Adass Jisroel) zu Berlin im Juni 1869 war die jüdische Antwort auf den im 19. Jahrhundert herrschenden Druck zu gesellschaftlicher und weltanschaulicher Assimilation. Doch nicht emanzipationsfeindliche Abkapselung war das Ziel der jungen Gemeinde, sondern die Vereinigung von gesetzestreuem Leben mit der Offenheit für Kultur, Bildung und Kunst der Umwelt – Emanzipation und aktive Teilnahme an der Gesellschaft sollten unter Wahrung der jüdischen Tradition verwirklicht werden.

Mit der Eröffnung von Religionsschulen, Synagogen und rituellen Einrichtungen entfaltete die Adass Jisroel ein eigenständiges Gemeindeleben. Als erster Rabbiner wurde der in Halberstadt geborene, im ungarisch-österreichischen Eisenstadt wirkende, Rabbiner Dr. Esriel Hildesheimer berufen, der 1873 das Rabbiner-Seminar zu Berlin gründete. 1880 weihte die Adass Jisroel in Berlin-Weissensee an der Falkenberger Chaussee, heute Wittlicher Strasse, ihren eigenen Gemeindefriedhof. Nachdem sich anfänglich Gemeindehaus und Synagoge in der Gipsstraße befunden hatten, wurden sie 1904 in die Artilleriestraße 31 (heute Tucholskystraße 40) verlegt, wo sie sich noch heute befinden. Mit dem Anwachsen der Gemeinde wurden 1924 neben Religionsschulen ein zweites Gemeindezentrum in Siegmundshof 11 in Berlin-Tiergarten mit Synagoge, Realgymnasium und Oberlyzeum - dem ersten und bis in jüngster Zeit einzigen jüdischen Gymnasium Berlins - eingerichtet. Ein eigenes Krankenhaus, das Israelitische Krankenheim der Adass Jisroel, wurde 1909 eröffnet, mehrere Synagogen wurden in Mitte, Prenzlauer Berg, Tiergarten und Charlottenburg unterhalten bzw. unterstützt. Mittlerweile war in Deutschland das mit der Gemeinde verbundene Rabbiner-Seminar zur bedeutendsten Ausbildungsstätte gesetzestreuer Rabbiner mit internationaler Ausstrahlung avanciert. Anfang der dreißiger Jahre des XX. Jahrhunderts war ein Sechstel der Berliner Juden mit der Adass Jisroel organisatorisch verbunden, sei es als Mitglieder, sei es als Anhänger, die die Dienstleistungen der Gemeinde in Anspruch nahmen und am Gemeindegeschehen teilnahmen.

Der Adass Jisroel erging es wie allen anderen jüdischen Gemeinden in Deutschland. Nach zahllosen vorangegangenen Akten der Verfolgung und Entrechtung ordnete die Gestapo im Dezember 1939 die Zerschlagung der Adass Jisroel und ihre Eingliederung in die von den Nazis gegründete "Reichsvereinigung der Juden in Deutschland" an. Damit war die Adass Jisroel aller ihrer Rechte und ihrer historischen Gemeindestätten beraubt.

Nach dem Genozid an den europäischen Juden hatten die überlebenden, emigrierten Adassianer weder die Chance noch die Kraft, sich in Berlin unmittelbar wieder als Gemeinde zu rekonstituieren. Im Westen Berlins waren das Schulgebäude und die Synagoge in Siegmundshof von Unbefugten an Dritte veräußert und 1955 geschleift worden. Im Osten der Stadt erging es der schönen, großen Synagoge der Gemeinde 1967 genauso. 1985 begangen in beiden Teilen des damals noch geteilten Berlins die Bemühungen um den Wiederaufbau der Gemeinde; seit dem Sommer dieses Jahres hat die Adass Jisroel unter erschwerten Bedingungen, mit einiger staatlicher Förderung und hauptsächlich mit der tatkräftigen Hilfe von Freiwilligen aus Ost und West, ihren verwüsteten und verwilderten Friedhof in Weissensee restauriert.

Die erste DDR-Regierung nach der Wende verfügte am 18. Dezember 1989, dem 50. Jahrestag der NS-Auflösungsverfügung mit der die Gemeinde juristisch zerschlagen worden war, die Wiedereinsetzung der Israelitischen Synagogen-Gemeinde (Adass Jisroel) zu Berlin in ihre in der NS-Zeit entzogenen Rechten. Der Wiederaufbau der Gemeinde konnte beginnen. Zu Purim 1990 (5750) wurde im angestammten Gemeindehaus eine neue Synagoge wiedereingeweiht, Torahrollen kamen aus Israel, im Juli 1991 wurde im Gemeindehaus das koschere Restaurant "Beth Café" und um die Ecke, in der Auguststraße, im April 1992, der Laden für koschere Lebensmittel und jüdische Ritualien "Kolbo" eröffnet. Die Wiederherstellung der historischen Synagoge sowie die Restaurierung der zerstörten Mikwe sind geplant.

Neben den regelmäßigen G’ttesdiensten gibt es in der Gemeinde Hebräischunterricht, Religionskurse für Kinder und Erwachsene, Vorträge und Lesungen zur jüdischen Tradition und Kultur in Geschichte und Gegenwart; Bibliothek, Archiv und Dokumentation runden dieses Angebot ab. Der Kinderklub ("Mo’adonit") im Gemeindehaus ist zu einem Magnet für große und kleine Kinder geworden. In der Sozialarbeit widmet sich die Adass Jisroel der Integration der Zuwanderer aus der früheren Sowjetunion, der Altenfürsorge, der Krankenseelsorge und der Betreuung jüdischer Gefangener in Berliner Haftanstalten. Die Gemeinde ist tätig auf dem Gebiet der jüdischen Erziehung und der Wohlfahrt. Oberstes Ziel der Adass Jisroel ist die Tradierung des gesetzestreuen Judentums, die Stärkung jüdischen Lebens in Berlin, die Pflege der Bande zu Israel.

Im Oktober 1997 war der ursprüngliche juristische Status der Adass Jisroel als vorkonstitutionell anerkannte altkorporierte Religionskörperschaft - Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts - höchstrichterlich bestätigt worden. Damit ist die Israelitische Synagogen-Gemeinde (Adass Jisroel) zu Berlin heute die einzige jüdische Religionsgemeinde in Deutschland, die ihren ursprünglichen Rechtstitel mit seiner juristischen Identität und Kontinuität zwischen der heutigen und der Gemeinde von 1869 innehat.

Der langjährige Vorsitzende der Gemeinde, Ari Abraham Offenberg s.A., der die Adass Jisroel von 1985 bis 2007 mit zielbewusster Entschlossenheit und unverkennbarer Prägung führte, hinterließ nach 22 Jahren Amtsführung eine schöne Gemeinde. Seine Wirkung als Lotse und Vorbild in schwieriger Zeit, sein unermüdlicher Einsatz als unersetzliche Brücke zwischen der Gemeinde in der Vorkriegszeit und der Gemeinde in unseren Tagen, seine Ausstrahlung als authentische Personifizierung des echten Berliner Adassianers bleiben unvergessen und auf ewig anerkannt.
‫הח׳ ר׳ ארי אברהם בן הח׳ ר׳ חיים שלמה אופנברג זצ״ל‬
‫נשיא‬
ק״ק עדת ישראל ברלין‬
‫משנת תשמ״ה ועד שנת תשס״ז
‫בשם טוב ובשיבה טובה
‫עלה למרומים ביום שבת ק׳ פר׳ תרומה ~ ו׳ אדר תשס״ז לפ״ק‬
‫נטמן ביום ג׳ ט׳ אדר תשס״ז לפ״ק ‎‎‎‎

Adass Jisroel


Ari Abraham Offenberg s.A.,
Vorsitzender
der Israelitischen Synagogen-Gemeinde (Adass Jisroel) zu Berlin
von 1985 bis 2007
Abberufen am 24. Februar 2007 / 6. Adar 5767 /
Schabbat Kodesch Par. Teruma
‎‪bestattet am 27. Februar 2007 / 9. Adar 5767.